Saturday, June 9, 2012

Taylor Cramer and Mary Wright Capture the 2012 Arkansas Junior Qualifying Tennis Championships

Taylor Cramer (pictured upper right) of Texarkana won the Boy's 18s title with a 6-2, 6-2 victory over Jordan Sheppard of Bentonville and Mary Wright (pictured lower right)of Hot Springs defeated Lindsey Liles of Little Rock 6-1, 6-4 for the Girl's 18s title in the Arkansas Junior Qualifying Tennis Championships at the Burns Park Tennis Center in North Little Rock, Arkansas.

Other divisional winners include ..
Boy's 16s- Jake Jacoby d. Branch Terrell 6-3; 6-2... Girl's 16s- Jacqueline Carr d. Katelyn Jackson 6-0; 6-1...

Boy's 14s- Maxwell Mendelsohn d. Marshall Ney 6-2; 6-2... Girl's 14s- Tatum Rice d. Katherine Tang 7-6; 6-3...

Boy's 12s- Anil Chakka d. Wesley Barnett 6-2; 6-3... Girl's 12s- Thea Rice d. Katie LaFrance 6-2; 6-3...

Boy's 10s- Jackson Davis d. Eric Richardson 4-1; 4-2... Girl's 10s- Clara Parker d. Ashlee Shinabery 4-0; 4-0
*** See comments for other results
Article Submitted by: Chuck Cavin, Pinnacle Tennis Academy

Monday, June 4, 2012

Without Injured Kaitlin Ray, #1 UCLA Lady Bruins Fall to #2 Florida in NCAA Final

Little Rock's Kaitlin Ray (pictured right) played a pivotal role in the UCLA Women Tennis Team's success throughout the entire season. The Lady Bruins with freshman Kaitlin in the starting lineup finished the regular season with a 21-2 record and the #1 seeding going into the NCAA Tournament. An injury to K-Ray forced her to watch her teammates from the sidelines at the NCAA Tournament in Athens, GA. One day after watching an emotional victory by her UCLA teammates over cross-town rival USC in the NCAA Semifinals, injured Kaitlin Ray and her top-seeded UCLA team came up just short in its quest for a national title on Tuesday, suffering a 4-0 loss to No. 2 Florida in the title match at the University of Georgia's Dan Magill Tennis Complex. The loss marks just the third of the season for UCLA, which ends the year 26-3 overall. The win for Florida (27-1) gives the program back-to-back NCAA Championships.