Friday, October 28, 2011

Jake Jacoby of Pulaski Academy and Tiffany Tang of Rogers win the Overall Arkansas State High School Tennis Championships

Jake Jacoby (pictured right)of Pulaski Academy defeated Cole Guy of White Hall 6-3,6-4 for the Overall Arkansas State High School Tennis Championships in the Boy's Singles division.
Tiffany Tang (pictured below)of Rogers narrowly defeated Lindsey Liles of LR Central 6-3, 1-6, 6-4 to win the Girl's Singles division title for the second straight year.
In the Overall High School Doubles divisions, Kevin Morris/Matt Tabler of Bentonville def Jordan Sheppard/Zach Ellis of Bentonville 6-1, 6-4 for the Boy's title. Allie Wilson/Olivia Foster of Greenwood def Julia Lefler/Sarah Kauffman of Lakeside, HS 6-4, 2-6, 6-2 for the Girl's title.
The winners of the singles/doubles titles in each conference are as follows:

7A Boy's Singles- Reid Churchill-Fayetteville
7A Girl's Singles- Tiffany Tang-Rogers

7A Boy's Doubles- Sheppard/Ellis-Bentonville
7A Girl's Doubles- Ravikumar/Lundy-Heritage

6A Boy's Singles- Austen McDaniel-Jonesboro
6A Girl's Singles- Arielle Butler-Searcy

6A Boy's Doubles- Drew Morgan/Weston McDaniel-Jonesboro
6A Girl's Doubles- Taylor Zane/Kaily Nix-Jonesboro

5A Boy's Singles- Cole Guy-White Hall
5A Girl's Singles- Ali Rowden-Greenbrier

5A Boy's Doubles- Hudgens/Messersmith-Lakeside HS
5A Girl's Doubles- Foster/Wilson-Greenwood

4A Boy's Singles- Jake Jacoby-Pulaski Academy
4A Girl's Singles- Emily Metcalf-Valley View

4A Boy's Doubles- Sean Corrothers/Brett McClain-Pulaski Academy
4A Girl's Doubles- Maddie McJunkens/Nancy Purnell-Nashville

3A Boy's Singles- Trent Brandon-Episcopal Collegiate
3A Girl's Singles- Maggie Beetstra-Episcopal Collegiate

3A Boy's Doubles- Bo Turney/Jeff McIntyre-Episcopal Collegiate
3A Girl's Doubles- Laura Lanier/Steele Strauss-Episcopal Collegiate

2A Boy's Singles- Drew Dodge-Conway Christian
2A Girl's Singles- Anna Brickell-Riverside

2A Boy's Doubles- Eubanks/Reeves-Ridgefield Christian
2A Girl's Doubles- Weaver/Wilson-Riverside

Monday, October 24, 2011

2011 ATA Award Winners

2011 Arkansas Tennis Association Award Winners

Hall of Fame
Randy Jackson (pictured right)

The Herschel Friday Award
Ryan Hudelson – Little Rock
Mary Wright – Hot Springs

The Jay Freeman Most Improved Player Award
Matt Talbert - Hot Springs
Lindsy Pearce – Fort Smith

Dr. Ted Bailey Sportsmanship Award
Kyle Henry – Fayettville
Tiffany Tang – Rogers

Henry Doyle Outstanding Senior
Gayle Fowlkes – Conway

Special Tennis Event of the Year
"Oh WATA Night Down Under" - Fort Smith

Arkansas Tennis Professional of the Year
Melissa Kelly - Fort Smith

Victor Sheshunoff Meritorious Education Award
Abby Davis – ARVTA

Barbara Brewer Community Service Award
Skip and Teri King – England / Stuttgart

Junior Tournament of the Year
Match Point – Little Rock

Member Organization of the Year
Arkansas River Valley Tennis Association