Monday, November 16, 2009

Central Arkansas Tennis Association (CATA) Announces 2009 Annual Award Winners- "click here for other cata news"

The new Central Arkansas Tennis Association (CATA ) announced its annual tennis community award winners.

Denise Bradley received the Meritorious Education Award.

Bill Sanders was awarded the Outstanding Service Award.

Brian Knopp, City Parks Director, received the Community Service Award.

Chris Dussourd was awarded the Top Junior Player of the Year.

Betty Courtway received the Lifetime Achievement Award.

Congratulations to these individuals for their generosity and unselfish commitment to our tennis community!

*** For more information log on to:

Sunday, November 1, 2009

Rebecca Bailey and Julio Olaya Capture Arkansas High School Overall Championships

Rebecca Bailey (pictured below) of Mount St. Mary defeated Helon Ricks of Hot Springs Lakeside 6-1, 6-3 in the Girl's Finals of the Arkansas High School Overall Championships. Julio Olaya (pictured right) of Pulaski Academy won the Boy's Division with a 6-1, 7-5 victory over defending champion Mario Martinez of LR Central.

Below are the Classification Winners:
Boys 7A- Mario Martinez of LR Central
Girls 7A- Rebecca Bailey of Mount St. Mary

Boys 6A- Jason Morgan of Jonesboro
Girls 6A- Irene Jadic of El Dorado

Boys 5A- Parker Allen of HS Lakeside
Girls 5A- Mary Wright of HS Lekeside

Boys 4A- Andrew Evans of Shiloh Christian
Girls 4A- Elizabeth Teed of Arkadelphia

Boys 3A- Tim Dinehart of Episcopal
Girls 3A- Maggie Beetstra of Episcopal

Boys 2A- Seth Laster of Union Christian
Girls 2A- Brandi Mikula of Union Christian

*** See comments for full results